São Paulo – Concrete Jungle

Miya – My Portuguese speaking skills improved tremendously, of course just by pure immersion.  I had the opportunity to really bond with Paulo’s family and meet the extended family.  Being there 4 months allowed the natural activities of daily life to occur.  We had lots of family lunches on the weekends, looked through old baby photos, played with our 2-year-old nephew Alexandre, got fed delicious home cooked meals by Paulo’s mom – Teresa, joined the local gym taking exercise classes in Portuguese, made fun of the show “Big Brother” and the novela with Teresa, played Playstation with our cousin Amanda, laughed hysterically with Aunt Silvia, enjoyed chatting with Paulo’s dad – Alvaro and girlfriend Bete, hung out with Cica and Lazinho.  We were also reminded of how wonderful it was to be hanging with friends – from grabbing a cold chopp (beer) and laughing in Vila Madalena, to dancing at the Jorge Ben Jorge show, to Club Clash. But what I loved so much was at lunch time you could always get an amazing plate of salad, rice, beans, farofa and it was all by weight (por kilo).  I got to know Brasil from the perspective of a local vs. a visitor.  Adorei Brasil!

My Favorite Foods

1 – Best Pizza – 1900

2 – Best Homecooked Food – Teresa’s chicken strogonoff and Feijão

3 – Best Suco de Açaí – Padaria in Maresias

4 – Best Abacaxi com Hortelã – Restaurant in Floripa

5 – Best Suco de Maracujá – Bahia – by Neme

6 – Best Kilo  – Padaria near Alvaro’s house

7 – Favorite Breakfast – Pao de Quiejo, Yogurt/Granola/Papaya/Mango/Banana

*****

Paulo – São Paulo… Aiaiai, por onde começar… Toda minha família mora lá e a maioria dos meus amigos também. Apesar de ser uma cidade muito louca, com um transito insuportável e uma poluição sinistra, seria impossível eu falar que não curto ela. Poderia fazer como a maioria que diz que é uma ótima capital gastronômica e cheia de eventos, shows, etc… mas não vou. O motivo porque, apesar de morar longe, eu tenho e sempre vou ter uma conexão especial com essa cidade, é o seguinte: Eu já fui e ainda sou parte de SP. Isso ficou claro p/ mim depois de passar 4 meses lá e ainda poder andar no meu bairro, reconhecer as pessoas, chegar em casa da balada de manhã cedo e acima de tudo, me sentir em casa na Rua Botucatu 454… Pretendo rodar o mundo e trazer um pouco de Sampa comigo e espero que as pessoas tenham uma ótima impressão de gente como eu, que nasceu e cresceu nessa crazy city!!

Botucatu x Estado de Israel

Rua Botucatu x Rua Estado de Israel

Family

Quality family time – lunches every weekend

Alexandre

Adorable Alexandre. Photo: Miya

Homies

Paulo’s long time friends – Léo, Grão e Edemas. Photo: Edemas

Casa

The balcony door to our room in Såo Paulo

~ by The Local Way on March 23, 2010.

One Response to “São Paulo – Concrete Jungle”

  1. Saudades de vcs!!

Leave a Reply

 
